AMA—Arthur N. Wilson, MD Scholarship

The American Medical Association sponsors the Arthur N. Wilson, MD Scholarship, which provides a $5,000 tuition assistance scholarship to a currently enrolled medical student who graduated from a high school in Southeast Alaska. This scholarship highlights the importance of supporting future physicians in rural communities. The majority of Southeast Alaska is part of the Tongass National Forest, the United States' largest national forest. Major cities are Juneau, Sitka, and Ketchikan. Due to the rural nature of Southeast Alaska, many communities have no road connections outside of their locale, so aircraft and boats are a major means of transport.
See website for details.