AMA—Minority Scholars Award

The American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation, in collaboration with the AMA Minority Affairs Section (MAS), with support from Pfizer Inc., offers medical student tuition assistance scholarships through the Minority Scholars Award program. The AMA Foundation is committed to increasing the number of minority physicians to better reflect the needs of our increasingly diverse society. Today, approximately 9 percent of U.S. physicians are Hispanic, American Indian, African-American, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian or from other groups historically underrepresented in the medical profession. ‘Underrepresented in medicine’ refers to racial and ethnic populations that are underrepresented relative to their numbers in the general population. Studies have documented the role of physician diversity.
The Minority Scholars Award program not only encourages diversity in medicine and alleviates debt, but also rewards commitment to the elimination of healthcare disparities, outstanding academic achievements, leadership activities and community involvement. Approximately twelve Minority Scholars Awards are awarded annually, each in the amount of a $10,000 scholarship. Nominees must be a current first or second-year student and a permanent resident or citizen of the U.S. Eligible students from traditionally underrepresented groups in the medical profession include African American/Black, American Indian, Native Hawaiian, Alaska Native and Hispanic/Latino. Each medical school is invited to submit up to two nominees.